Mortality

Sad news today. I just learned that a dear friend of mine lost her soul mate this last Sunday. He’s had close calls before over the last few years, so it’s not as if we all didn’t see this coming, but still when death strikes so close, it’s a reminder of just how mortal we all are.

Every year, we all get a little older. Every day that passes brings us just another click closer to the end. Am I worried about death? No, I am not immortal; I know I will die one day. Will I go quietly? Not likely, however I certainly don’t look forward to a long, painful fight. I mean, if taking millions of dollars of pills to preserve my life for a few more months or not doing so, I think I’ll opt for the not. There would have to be some pretty convincing arguments for me to go that route, such as at least a 90% chance of success, and providing I still have many years to look forward to anyway. Ah well, I am habitually healthy so I doubt I’ll have to worry about that.

My dad died of a very sudden and instantly fatal heart attack. It surprised us all with absolutely no warning. My mom died also rather suddenly but we had some warning there. She had an aneurism in one of those big blood vessels just off her heart. She would feel the pain in her back. It was being treated but still, it was a tragedy waiting to happen. It finally did in 2007.

It was the same with my girlfriend’s husband. He’d had more than one heart attack and been in heart surgery more than once too I believe, being fitted with a pacemaker and all. So this day was fated to happen.

Other people I personally know have lost husbands. It always reminds me of just how mortal we all are.

Other people I know have been diagnosed with cancer. So far they have all fought it off. Still, it’s a disturbing issue. Are we (humans) now living long enough that only the evil cancer is the last killer disease? The other things we die from merely striking first? Do they really have a cure for most cancers but are withholding it so they can make more money by treating symptoms? Questions I’ll likely never know the answer to.

Mortality? Life is a circle. We are born, we live, and we die.

Life is a Circle

In the newness of our time, we swim
In the first quarter of our time, we crawl
In the fullness of our time, we walk
In the last quarter of our time, we rest
Life is a circle
We rest, that we might remember how to swim

Death walks at our shoulder
He reaches for some of us sooner than others
The touch of Death can be a quick slap
The touch of Death can be a slow caress
Life is a circle
Rest, ye weary soldiers that you might remember how to swim

God is our Lord
His plans for us are a complicated weave
In His wisdom, he plucks one from here that he may place one there
Sometimes the thread of our life needs must be short and sometimes long
Life is a circle
Swim with long strokes that your next thread will hold God’s weave

In the dawn of our time, we curl in the security of our womb
In the morning of our time, we learn to laugh and cry at our world
In the noon of our time, we learn to rile and rage at our life
In the evening of our time, our touch has been felt
Life is a circle
It is time for us to teach the young to laugh
It is time to shed a tear for all those we have lost
We shed a tear so that we may remember how to swim

For without tears, there is no swimming

Published in: on March 20, 2012 at 7:24 PM  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://annalwalls.wordpress.com/2012/03/20/mortality/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

